“I live in two worlds. One is a world of books”: The Rory Gilmore Book Club

I love love LOVE Gilmore Girls. I miss it every day. I feel like it’s one of those perfect shows- the way that Sci-Fi aficionados feel about Firefly, or toddlers feel about Dora the Explorer. Gilmore Girls had perfect timing, snappy dialogue and the best cast.

*pause for Gilmore Girls mini-marathon*

And as a girl whose purse often contains a book (or two…or 70, housed conveniently inside a Kindle), I feel a special bond with Rory Gilmore, the spirit animal of many a bookworm. For those who have never seen the show (um…go watch it? Now?), Rory is the daughter in the mother-daughter duo affectionately known as the Gilmore Girls. Her love of books is a standing character trait all throughout the show.

An Australian writer (Patrick Lenton) has compiled a list of all the books that are shown during the series or referenced in it’s dialogue. They’re calling it the Rory Gilmore Reading List. 

Now, before finding this, I went looking for a list of books, get some inspiration to create a reading list of my own, maybe write a little blog post about reading lists, set a couple book-related 2015 goals. Pinterest is lousy with links to various compilations: “New Books to read in 2015”, “Books you may have missed from 2014”, “Books to read before they are movies”, “Books all women should read”, “Books everyone should re-read from high school” “Books you should read on slushy afternoons in January while your husband watches football” . But as soon as I saw this, I knew what I needed to do: Take the Rory Gilmore Challenge.

I’ve read 53/339. Pretty sad state of affairs…although only 2 of the Harry Potter books were on that list, and I’ve read all 7 so…there’s that.

Anyway, for the next little while, I’ll be using this this to guide some of my reading, especially because some of these books are classics and/or ones I’ve wanted to read for a long time. I’m starting with “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky If anyone else would like to join me and start a Rory Gilmore Book Club, I would be SO into that! I’ll supply the wine, questions and life-size cutout of Jared Padalecki.

Hello, Sailor! 

One thought on ““I live in two worlds. One is a world of books”: The Rory Gilmore Book Club

Leave a Reply

