Book Cookin’ Thursday #2 Green Eggs and Ham

You may like them.
You will see.
You may like them
in a tree!

Did you know that this book (Dr. Seuss’ Green Eggs and Ham) exists because of a bet? Dr. Seuss’ publisher, Bennett Cerf, bet him 50$ that he couldn’t create a book with any sort of plot using solely the 50 one syllable words from the first grade curriculum. Obviously, he won that bet.
Other fun facts about Dr. Seuss? Yertle the Turtle was originally drawn with a Hitler mustache, and the good Doctor once threatened to sue a anti-abortion organization for using a quote from “Horton hears a Who”. The more I learn, the more I love him!

So for my second week of book cookin’ Thursday, I set out to make some green eggs and ham, a la Sam-I-Am. I got the official recipe off of the Seussville website here.
Modifications: most of the recipe suggests having an adult on hand to cut the ham, and light the stove, but I felt like I could handle it 😉 I made the deluxe GE&H, because…go big or go home, right?

Yes! The recipe was geared towards children. Does this mitigate my feelings of success? No! I thoroughly enjoyed the fruits of my labor on toast! While wearing my One Fish-Two Fish t-shirt because who doesn’t love a theme lunch?

Put a little silly in your day, read some Seuss and make some GE&H!! Eat them in a box, with a fox, On a boat, with a goat. Eat them here or eat them there, you can eat them anywhere!

Leave a Reply

