Review Time: “Someday, Someday Maybe” by Lauren Graham

Probably like most of you, I choose books to read based on a variety of reasons and criteria. Life is just way too busy to research every book you think you’d like to read, and some of my very favorite books are ones I have purchased with very little forethought. Reasons to buy and read a particular book range from well-researched and thought out to ‘irresponsible waste of money’. A sampling:

  • Recommended by Indigo or Amazon (both of whom know me alarmingly well).
  • Recommended by friends/ family/ someone on the bus/ that guy with the fur hat who panhandles downtown and REALLY liked “The Corrections”
  • “If you spend $10 more, you get a 20% off coupon for your next visit”
  • Cover art, Cover font or just a funny title
  • “Heather’s Picks”
  • Filling a gap in my library (“Well,I don’t have any books about what it would be like to be the leader of a gang…”)

In case you didn’t recognise the name of the author, “Someday, Someday Maybe” was penned by Lauren Graham, the actress who played Lorelai Gilmore on “Gilmore Girls”-possibly the best T.V. show to have ever graced the W.B.

…and that’s why I read this book.

Seeing as Graham doesn’t write for Gilmore Girls I don’t know why I assumed that her snappy, entertaining dialogue from the show would be reflected in her writing, but I did, and I was a little disappointed. This book was just O.K.

“Someday, Someday maybe” has a cute premise, it is the story of a young woman coming to the end of her self-imposed 3 year deadline for making it big in the ‘business we call show’. The characters are somewhat relatable at times but a little one-dimensional, with back stories that are tacked on with little depth. The plot is simple but satisfying and the dialogue is clever but falls a little flat. I found myself a little bit bored and disengaged while reading this book.

There was one scene, a conversation between the lead character and her friend when I could see that “Gilmore Girls” spark, which makes me think that maybe if it was read out loud I might feel differently about the work. I could actually see this book doing well adapted into your typical rom-com movie, with the girl who falls down a lot (played by Taylor Swift in her acting debut) and the bumbling but supportive love interest (played by one of those Helmsworth boys). But as a book, I give it a “meh”. Get it from the library or wait for the inevitable movie.

One thought on “Review Time: “Someday, Someday Maybe” by Lauren Graham

  1. That’s the exact same reason I bought this book! I love Lauren Graham in everything that she does, even interviews, so I was desperate to get this book. I did enjoy it but I’d definitely agree that it’s not as good as I’d hoped it would be. Not one I’d re-read I don’t think. Oh, and apparently Ellen is making it into a tv show!

Leave a Reply

