“I know what you had for breakfast”-An ode to autobiographies of the non-famous

I’m nosy.

Need help moving? I’m your girl, I’m all in, and I am totally going to nose through your stuff, determining once and for all if you were born with it or if its Maybelline. Yard sale? I am SO there, Neighbor! Poking through the discarded aspects of your life and judging you based on what I see. And don’t even think about telling me that you “always use mypetsname1″ as your password. Okay,  I won’t break into your email (I DO have some limits), but it’s like TORTURE!

So, needless to say, I love biographies in general, and biographies of “everyday” people in particular. I’m talking about the Jen Lancaster* model of biography, where people you have never heard of before write about their lives, which are not noticeably different lives than the ones of their readers.

With all the ways that celebrity news permeates our lives, sometimes it feels like there is nothing left to know about the already famous. I am by no means a celeb gossip enthusiast, I don’t have twitter and I don’t read Perez Hilton. However, I saw Kanye propose to Kim, I know all about why Katie left Tom. I feel like its only a matter of days before I’m forced to watch Snookies’ birthing video. So I’m really not inclined to go out and read a book about these people. They’re already over-exposed. The thrill is gone.

They say that everyone has a story to tell. It is fantastic that a genre has evolved to allow for the inspiring/ important/ hilarious stories of an everyday life to be told without the author also having to be a sports star, politician or resident of the New Jersey shore.

And its really nice to be privy to the lives of people I don’t know while enjoying a well-written book and NOT being arrested for peeping!

*Never read anything by Jen Lancaster? DO IT!  Start with “Bitter is the New Black“. Also notable in this category? Jeannette Walls “The Glass Castle” and Susan Jane Gilman “Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress”

Leave a Reply

