Plights of a bookworm #1: Character Over-Attachment

I remember it well, my first was Walter Blythe, Anne and Gilberts’ son from the Anne of Green Gables series. I’ll never forget sitting on my backyard swing set, 12 years old, new copy of “Rilla of Ingleside“, crying my little heart out.

“No!” I sobbed “Not Walter! He didn’t even want to go to war. He’s the SENSITIVE one!” I had fallen victim to one of the many plights of bookworms: Character Over-attachment. 

Of course, it bears mentioning that I wasn’t the only victim here, my mother had to try and make sense of the fact that her 12-year old was too upset about the WW1 battle of Courcelette to eat lunch that day 😉

There have been many more since then, characters that have surprised, delighted and disappointed us. Broken our hearts as effectively as any real life person. Set standards for the living people in our lives. Books not only add their plots to out lives, but add their characters to its cast.

Anyone else out there willing to own up to their own character over-attachment?

2 thoughts on “Plights of a bookworm #1: Character Over-Attachment

  1. Emmanuelle

    For me it’s always been animals in books. I think my first was Flag from The Yearling (I read a very condensed version when I was in grade 3). All time though, I would have to say Karenin from “The Unbearable Lightness of Being” I still cry when read about her death, and I’ve read the book probably at least 15 times.

    Actually, now that I think about it my first was the Snowman from The Snowman by Raymond Briggs. Such a good book, but very sad…

Leave a Reply

